Four Aspects

Four aspects of a romantic relationship or friendship between two people. It might work for other configurations, but I doubt it. But I mean, I don’t know.

So! Four aspects. What are they? Keep reading.

This is how much you, well, love the person. I’m not going to try to explain what love is, because I don’t need to. Anybody who doesn’t already know, you can’t explain it to them anyway. Minds far greater than mine have tried to explain it; go read their shit.

Trust is basically when you think someone won’t kill you and eat you. Or otherwise fuck you over. This is a game-changer. If you firmly believe that the person isn’t going to eat you, that really opens up the potential for meaningful connection.

This is when you are glad the person is in the world, and you care about what they think, their opinions.

This is how much you wish to be physical with the person. Horndog doesn’t necessarily mean sex. It mostly does, sure, but it also covers physical affection of any kind. It’s when you like touching the person in any capacity. Or, if you haven’t touched the person, it can measure your desire to touch the person.

Great, four aspects. So what? So rate them on a scale of 1 to 5, of course! The rating doesn’t rate the relationship. It rates how strongly you feel that aspect. So each person will fill out their own rubric. If you want it to be worth a shit, plan on not showing it to your partner.

Here’s a list of what the levels mean.

1. Nope
2. Low
3. Medium
4. High
5. OMG OMG OMG holy shit

Once you’ve filled it out, look for any 1’s and 5’s. Those are a problem. Sometimes. A 1 in Horndog describes many friendships. But otherwise, a 1 is a problem that is not easy to fix. As for 5, settle down; you’re totally disregulated. Deep breaths. Consider therapy. The middle three values don’t really matter; it’s just, you have the info now; you’ve thought about it.

Why do all this? I don’t know. I just thought of it. And here it is.